Case Family in Hong Kong

Back to School!!!

Posted in Daily Life Blurbs by jpcase01 on October 3, 2007

Things we like about Hong Kong: 

The view of the islands from HKUST.

The way people love babies, especially blued-eyed expats, like Ezri.  She’s practically a Rock-Star here.

The Shogun pork burger from McDonalds.  It’s back and it’s tasty.  Only $22HK for a fries, burger and drink. 

Iced Milk-Tea, Iced Coffee, it’s everywhre, it’s fabolous. 

Things we don’t like about HK:

No baby changing stations anywhere. 

The foul smell that emanates from the washer/dryer everytime you try to use the dry cycle. 

Having to go to two groceries in order to find sour cream. 

Well today I was back at school, I go from 8am to 9:30pm on Wednesdays.  We were off last week for the Mid-Autumn festival, so Tuesday and Wednesday were holidays last week and most everything was closed.  Monday, October 1st was National Day and everything was pretty much closed again so it’s been a pretty laid back week other than trying to keep up with my school work.  Learning to do research is very demanding and causes me to spend a majority of my time throughout the week reading and preparing for class.  Things are on the upswing here, we continue to feel more settled, we have our visas for the next year, I have my HKID and Mel is going for hers tomorrow.  We have our first month of bills under our belt and it looks like we should have enough money to pay them, lol, and we recieved our first months award from the university and it turned out to be a bit more than I had budgeted for.  The university is better and more reputable than I had even hoped for and I really enjoy all my classes.  http://citm.utdallas.edu/utdrankings/RankingWorldwide_static.aspx

There is a learning curve so to speak moving further into management and research away from engineering, but so far I really feel at peace that this is the direction in which God’s wants me to move.  I’m learning something new everyday and I love it although it does require patience and there are some growing pains.  Oh, I almost forget to mention that we may have indeed found a place to call our church home.  www.islandecc.com  We attended last week and we think this is it.  They preach the Gospel, have a modern worship style, and they encourage participation in small groups that meet throughout the week, which is what we were looking for.  We’re attending a small group on Saturday and feel like that if it goes well it will certainly be a confirmation from God.  Well it’s late and I’m ready to hit the sack.  Baai-baai! (bye-bye in cantonese)

Jason on behalf of the Case family

We’ll post some pictures and clips soon!

Leave a Reply

