Case Family in Hong Kong

Chinese New Year Approaches

Posted in Daily Life Blurbs by jpcase01 on January 24, 2008

I just want to thank you for visiting our site.  We have had some wonderfully encouraging contacts and emails the past few weeks and look forward to hearing from more of you.  Ok, where to begin?  During the break we have visiting professors in to discuss their current research, and last week we had a professor in from Ohio State to discuss cultural distance.  This is really beside the point so I’ll cut to the chase, as we were mingling before the start of the seminar, Chinese New Year must have come up at least 3 times in the span of 10 minutes.  This leads me to the realization that it is by far the biggest holiday over here and we really have nothing to compare it to in the States (it lasts for like 15 days).  So Chinese traditional music is playing in all the malls and many public spaces and pictures of rats, cute cuddly cartoon ones, are going up everywhere – (this is the year of the “Rat”), oh and Ratatouille is huge of course (that was marketing genius if they purposely rolled it out right before the year of the “Rat”), and everyone is making plans to head home. 

I have a quick anecdote that we found particularly amusing or disturbing (depending on your point of view).  At church last week our pastor shared a news article that documented the extent that people go to in order to make it home for the holidays.  A photo showed a picture of a guy being shoved into a train window in order to get in, and the gist of the story is that with a couple hundred million people trying to get home for the holidays the trains are so crammed that people buy adult diapers sold by hawkers at the train stations because even if they get on the train they know they aren’t going to be able to move, nevermind the people sitting and sleeping in the bathrooms.  All I can say is too much information and shoo wee, Melanie, with her sense of smell like a hound dog would never make it, and me with my claustrophobia would lose my mind before I ever had an opportunity to experience the aromas.  Anyway, all that to say that things should be interesting, maybe I’ll try to post a slideshow of decorations, parades and festivals if we’re able to hit any.  So right now familywise, we’re coming off a really restful week, thankfully so, being that we’ve all been a bit under the weather.  The trees are dropping leaves and the temperature has been down in the 50s so the weather has been wreaking havoc on our sinuses.  I just received my final grade from my 1st semester and suffice to say the 1st semester was a smashing success!!!  As I’ve enrolled for classes for the spring semester I expect another tough and challenging semester, its already starting to stress me out, I think I may have set the bar too high from my 1st semester.  I hope to share some thoughts about the pursuit of a PhD in an upcoming post.  We also plan to send out and post a prayer letter soon. 

May God bless you,

Jason on behalf of the Cases

Leave a Reply

